4-4 for Cillian O’Connor helps Ballintubber book Mayo semi-final against holders Castlebar

CILLIAN O’CONNOR WENT on a goalscoring rampage this afternoon as he shot 4-4 to help his club Ballintubber reach the semi-finals of the Mayo senior football championship.

Ballintubber blitzed Garrymore to win 6-14 to 1-9 with O’Connor firing four goals to the net while Jason Gibbons and Alan Plunkett also raised green flags.

At the break Ballintubber were in front by 3-7 to 0-2 and they ran out victors by 20 points as the 2014 champions issued a strong statement of intent.

Their win sets up a heavyweight semi-final game between Ballintubber and Castlebar Mitchels. The pair have won five of the last six Mayo senior football titles with Ballintubber defeating Castlebar Mitchels in their three final wins in 2010, 2011 and 2014.

Click Here:


Castlebar Mitchels, this year’s All-Ireland club finalists, trailed by 0-10 to 1-6 at half-time to Ballaghaderreen in their last eight game this afternoon with Eoghan O’Reilly scoring their goal. Barry Regan was in sparkling scoring form in that opening period for Ballaghaderreen.

But Castlebar Mitchels took over in the second half with goals from Cian Costello and Barry Moran helping deliver a 3-13 to 1-13 win.

Yesterday’s quarter-final victors Breaffy and Knockmore will face off in the other semi-final clash.

Mayo GAA Treanlaur Catering SFC Semi-Finals: @BreaffyGAA v @Gaa_Knockmore & @MitchelsGaa v @BallintubberCLG. #mayogaa #gaa

— Mayo GAA (@MayoGAA) October 16, 2016

Source: Mayo GAA/Twitter

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!