Ian Nagle’s Leinster debut one of 9 changes for Cardiff trip

LEINSTER HEAD COACH Leo Cullen has made nine changes in personnel to his side for tomorrow’s Guinness Pro12 game away to Cardiff Blues [KO 7.35pm, TG4].

In spite of last weekend’s 31-19 defeat of the Ospreys, Cullen has performed some substantial surgery on his starting line-up for this weekend’s trip to the Arms Park to face the Welsh outfit, who are level on points with Ulster at the top of the table having won all four of their games so far this season.

After joining Leinster during the summer, Ian Nagle will make his debut in the second row alongside Mick Kearney. The former Munster lock replaces Devin Toner in what will be his first appearance in the Pro12 in almost three years.

Cullen has overhauled the front row entirely, with Jack McGrath, James Tracy and Mike Ross coming in for Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong.

There are two further changes to the pack in the back row, where Dan Leavy and Rhys Ruddock will start in place of Jordi Murphy and Jamie Heaslip.

In the backline, Fergus McFadden returns from injury to take the place of Isa Nacewa on the wing, Rory O’Loughlin gets his first competitive start at centre as Garry Ringrose drops out, and Jamison Gibson-Park comes in at scrum-half to replace Luke McGrath.

Ireland out-half Johnny Sexton will wear the captain’s armband for Leinster, who host Munster at the Aviva Stadium next weekend.


15. Zane Kirchner
14. Fergus McFadden
13. Rory O’Loughlin
12. Noel Reid
11. Dave Kearney
10. Johnny Sexton (captain)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

1. Jack McGrath
2. James Tracy
3. Mike Ross
4. Mick Kearney
5. Ian Nagle
6. Dan Leavy
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Rhys Ruddock


16. Sean Cronin
17. Peter Dooley
18. Michael Bent
19. Devin Toner
20. Jamie Heaslip
21. Nick McCarthy
22. Joey Carbery
23. Barry Daly

Cardiff Blues:

15. Matthew Morgan
14. Blaine Scully
13. Cory Allen
12. Rey Lee-Lo
11. Tom James
10. Gareth Anscombe
9. Lloyd Williams

1. Gethin Jenkins (captain)
2. Kristian Dacey
3. Taufa’ao Filise
4. George Earle
5. Josh Turnbull
6. Sam Warburton
7. Ellis Jenkins
8. Nick Williams


16. Matthew Rees
17. Rhys Gill
18. Scott Andrews
19. Macauley Cook
20. Josh Navidi
21. Tomos Williams
22. Steve Shingler
23. Dan Fish

Lansdowne look for 3rd win on the trot, Cookies welcome ‘Tarf and all your UBL previewsThe sniff of competitive rugby has Peter O’Mahony straining at the leash

Click Here: Japan Rugby Shop